Chapter 6 Lecture Slides_Student Version.pptx

vinic6 9 views 59 slides Mar 11, 2025
Slide 1
Slide 1 of 59
Slide 1
1
Slide 2
2
Slide 3
3
Slide 4
4
Slide 5
5
Slide 6
6
Slide 7
7
Slide 8
8
Slide 9
9
Slide 10
10
Slide 11
11
Slide 12
12
Slide 13
13
Slide 14
14
Slide 15
15
Slide 16
16
Slide 17
17
Slide 18
18
Slide 19
19
Slide 20
20
Slide 21
21
Slide 22
22
Slide 23
23
Slide 24
24
Slide 25
25
Slide 26
26
Slide 27
27
Slide 28
28
Slide 29
29
Slide 30
30
Slide 31
31
Slide 32
32
Slide 33
33
Slide 34
34
Slide 35
35
Slide 36
36
Slide 37
37
Slide 38
38
Slide 39
39
Slide 40
40
Slide 41
41
Slide 42
42
Slide 43
43
Slide 44
44
Slide 45
45
Slide 46
46
Slide 47
47
Slide 48
48
Slide 49
49
Slide 50
50
Slide 51
51
Slide 52
52
Slide 53
53
Slide 54
54
Slide 55
55
Slide 56
56
Slide 57
57
Slide 58
58
Slide 59
59

About This Presentation

Business and Digital Markeiting


Slide Content

Chapter 6: Paid Search Marketing

Learning Objectives Identify the various types of search engine advertisements and their parts Analyze the effectiveness of an existing search engine advertising campaign Determine ways to improve an ad’s position without increasing the bid amount Create a categorized list of keywords on which to advertise on a search engine

Chapter Review

Paid Search Value Known intent Influenceability Competition

[Exact match] selects high converting advertising targets. “Phrase match” expands potential targets by matching related searches with similar intent. Broad match targets searches that are remotely related to the target, resulting in very low conversion rates. Keyword Selection

Ideal Keywords High Purchase Intent High Volume Low Competition The ideal keyword is one that has high purchase intent, high volume, and low competition.

Ad Copy Keyword relevance Enticing and unique value proposition (UVP) Obvious call to action (CTA) Ad extensions

Responsive search ads began as an additional feature Google provided to search advertisers, but now they’re the default method of inputting ad copy. In following slide, you’ll see several key features of responsive search ads: The headlines with the 30-character limit The descriptions with the 90-character limit Responsive Search Ads What the next slide does not show are the fields to enter the final URL or the path. There are two (optional) path entry fields with a 15-character limit. The final URL has no character limit, because URLs can contain immensely long tracking codes.

Google practically forces advertisers to engage in extensive A/B testing of their ads (Google calls these tests ‘A/B/n tests’ because these tests can include multiple variations). In the image, five headlines have been entered, along with two descriptions. The following slide will show preview examples of the multiple variations of headlines and descriptions being A/B tested. Creation of Responsive Search Ads

Responsive Search Ads A/B Test Examples

Other Ad Types Shopping ads Local search ads Call ads Remarketing lists for search ads (RLSA) Metasearch ads

Shopping Ads Merchant Center Inventory Prices and images

Local Search Ads Local search ads are, as implied by their name, ads shown to people searching for something in a nearby location. The search does not have to include “near me” in it to trigger a local search ad.

“More Places” button brings in ads organic local results when searching for : “dessert near me” Local Search Ads Examples

Local search ads can also appear on the SERP before clicking on the map portion. In the screenshot to the left, we see that Connect 4 Web Design topped the list because it paid for an ad directly on the mobile SERP. Local Search Ads cont.

The last ad in the image to the left is a call ad. It has no option to visit Joseph Media Group’s website. Instead, clicking on the ad will initiate a phone call to Joseph Media Group. Call Ads

Remarketing lists for search ads (RLSA) Search ads targeted to prior website visitors (Also need to have done a search on targeted keywords) Minimum 1,000 people on list

Metasearch Ads For several different kinds of searches, but especially for flight and hotel searches, Google can provide booking information directly to the searcher.

All advertisers, would like to pay less for the same ad exposure. It is therefore critical to understand how ads can earn as high a quality score as possible. Achieving High Ad Rank

This screenshot shows how Quality Score is reported. Quality Score is measured for each keyword, not just for each ad. Quality Score

Bidding Methods CPC CPA “Cost Per Acquisition” “Cost Per Action” Converted to CPC Automated

Automated Bidding 1 Conversions (default) By default, Google’s algorithms will manage the keyword bids to maximize your conversion rate for the budget you specify. These algorithms are data hungry, so it might take a long time before Google outperforms what you would achieve with manual bidding and manual adjustments.

Automated Bidding 2 Conversions (default) Conversion value Clicks Impression share

Automated Bidding 3 Manual (but optimized) Advertisers can bid manually but still avail themselves of “Enhanced CPC”, where Google will optimize bids to improve performance. But this form of optimization is more limited. This is only recommended for advertisers who have such limited data that automated bidding would take too long to produce good results.

To the right is the Google Ads Account Structure diagram as seen in section 6 of chapter 6. Note that that virtually everything is controlled at the campaign level. Google Ads Account Structure

Lecture

When paid ads are turned off on Microsoft's search network, organic search volume increases. On Google, organic volume goes up when paid ads are turned off, and drops when paid ads are turned back on. Branded Keywords

Hypothetical eBay Ad Results The report above contains fictional numbers, but they reflect reasonable figures for eBay's search ads revenue. The experiment showed that eBay could have earned the same revenue through organic results without spending on search ads.

Unbranded Keywords

Capturing Lost Conversions Non-converters: Did not like what they saw Consumers who were ready to convert, but did not see the right content on the website to influence them to purchase. Conversion rate optimization efforts are focused on this group. Were not likely to convert anyway Were not ready to convert (but may be ready in the future)

Generic-to-Brand Spillover The ad results above are hypothetical results for a hotel chain like Hilton for unbranded searches in a particular geography (like hotels Los Angeles).

Generic-to-Direct Spillover Automotive Website Of 3,186 traffic-producing keywords, 599 produced later increases in direct traffic A paper by Oliver Rutz, Michael Trusov, and Randolph Bucklin discusses a certain effect: visitors might make repeat visits later by coming directly to the site (i.e. typing the URL directly into the browser). In that paper, they looked at data from an automotive website.

Note that the a negative sign in the “Estimate” column indicates that keywords fitting that category are MORE likely to produce return visits. A positive sign indicates that keywords in that category are LESS likely to produce return visits. The third group of keywords are not significant, meaning they have no higher or lower likelihood of producing return visits than the average. Results for Semantic Keywords Characteristics

Higher bid amounts can improve a company's ad rankings, but Quality Score optimization also plays a role. Optimal Paid Search Rank

This is a tool that calculates the most profitable ad rank based on minimal inputs. PROSAD

The PROSAD tool uses a model to infer the CPC and CTR of other paid search rankings, then calculates the total profit of ranking in each of the ten first-page positions. PROSAD Results

PPC Math Exercise 1 With a budget of $1000, an average CPC of $2.50, how many clicks can the advertiser receive before their budget is exhausted?

PPC Math Exercise 2 With an unlimited budget, an average CPC of $1.00, a CTR of 1.8%, and 60,000 impressions, how much will the advertiser spend?

PPC Math Exercise 3 With an average CPC of $2.00, how high does the conversion rate need to be in order to reach a goal CPA of $10?

PPC Math Exercise 4 If you have a $3000 budget, your average CPC is $0.50, and your conversion rate is 5%, what is your current CPA? How many conversions can you get for $3000?

PPC Math Exercise 5 Assume you buy women’s skirts at wholesale for $10, and you resell them online for $50 . Y ou give away free shipping which costs $5, and you want to make $20 per dress . W hat should your target CPA be?

PPC Math Exercis e 6 Using the above information and answer, with an average CPC of $3, how many clicks can you get before you get a sale? What should be your target conversion rate? 

Campaign Settings- Activity Campaign Type Search network only Display network only Search network with display select Shopping

Campaign Settings - Activity : Device Device Desktop Tablet Mobile

Campaign Settings - Activity : Location Location How should their Google Ads campaigns be organized geographically?

Campaign Settings - Activity : Language Language Is there a sufficient volume of searches in other languages to justify separate campaigns for these searchers is a question that should be tested?

Campaign Settings - Activity : B id Strategy Bid strategy Manual Automatic CPA Flexible

Campaign Settings - Activity : Budget Daily Budget Should some campaigns have a different daily budget than others?

Campaign Settings - Activity : Ad Extensions Ad extensions Location

Campaign Settings - Activity : Affiliate Location Ad extensions Location Affiliate location

Campaign Settings - Activity : Callout Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout

Campaign Settings - Activity : Call Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call

Campaign Settings - Activity : Message Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message

Campaign Settings - Activity : Site l ink Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message Sitelink

Campaign Settings - Activity : Struc tured Snippet Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message Sitelink Structured snippet Available headers: Amenities, Brands, Courses, Degree programs, Destinations, Featured hotels, Insurance coverage, Models, Neighborhoods, Service catalog, Shows, Styles, Types

Campaign Settings - Activity : Price Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message Sitelink Structured snippet Price

Campaign Settings - Activity : Review Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message Sitelink Structured snippet Price Review

Campaign Settings - Activity : App Ad extensions Location Affiliate location Callout Call Message Sitelink Structured snippet Price Review App

Analyzing Keyword Performance- Discussion
Tags